Friday, 12 February 2016

List of Etsy teams in the UK including local teams, themed teams and UK wide teams

Hello everyone!

Today I thought I would tell you all a little bit about Etsy Teams as well as share my list of Etsy Teams in the U.K. I realise from using Twitter and being part of some sellers groups that often people don't know about Etsy Teams or if one exists in their area so I have decided to put together this list of Etsy Teams across the U.K.

I hope that you will find it useful!

What is an Etsy Team?

Etsy Teams are a feature within Etsy where members can start up community groups or join an existing community group.

Each team has their own link and team forum. The team forum is used in different ways by different teams but often are used as a place to socialise, gain advice and support in running your Etsy shop and connect with other sellers.

Teams can be on any theme. For example you could have "Cat Lovers Team" or "Vintage Sellers UK Team" as well as global, national or local Etsy teams.

Who runs Etsy Teams?

Teams are not run by Etsy but instead are run by sellers themselves who volunteer for the role.

Each team will have one captain and this captain might also assign leaders to help them run the team or have volunteers take on different roles within the team.

Why join a Local Etsy Team?

Local Etsy Teams can be really helpful for gaining advice and support from those living locally. There are often issues that affect you which might not be the case nationwide or worldwide or local advice you can gain from using the team forum (for example the best craft shops to go to or the best places to get something printed locally).

Teams often work together on promotional opportunities so is a great way to get the word out about your shop to a local market.

In addition, many teams also put on local meet ups, events, craft parties and selling events so joining a team can be really social and a way to meet other members.

I would really recommend searching out your local Etsy teams and joining the community. You never know, you might sudden discover that your next door neighbour is also an Etsy seller!

Why join a themed team, a broader UK team, international/ global team? 

Themed teams are perfect for connecting with members/ sellers who have a common interest with you. If you are looking for advice, support and to network with others in the same field as you this is a great way to do so. Some teams are themed on things like product time (for example, there is a UK photo team) and others bring together people who are interested in the same things but may not be at all shop related (for example, the UK Home Edders team is for those who home educate).

UK teams, international teams and global teams are also great to join. Many run social media campaigns, have really active online forums and ways to get involved. There are a huge amount of teams globally so I couldn't even start to list them all (!!) but you can search here to find ones which might appeal to you https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams


What should you look for in a team?

There are so many teams to choose from it can be difficult to know which ones to join. I would suggest looking for a few teams which really interest you and you would like to get involved with rather than joining lots and lots of teams.

Bigger isn't always better (!). Look for the teams which are really active, where members seem really engaged and excited to be part of the community.



Am I missing a really great team!?

If I am missing any please do contact me either by tweeting me @thedorothydays, sending me an Etsy convo or leaving a comment on this blog post and I will add it to the list. There are lots of teams which are no longer active or more than one team in one area so I will try and select the most active teams.

Etsy Teams in the U.K 


Location based teams
Aberdeen https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/29661/aberdeen-etsy
Berkshire https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/15599/berkshire-uk-vintage-and-handmade
Birmingham Ideas https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/24918/ideas-birmingham
Birmingham Originals https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/24044/birmingham-originals
Brighton https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/7247/brighton-sellers-team
Bristol - https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/21210/etsy-sellers-in-bristol
Cambridge https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/21043/etsy-cambridge
Cardiff https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/23581/cardiff-and-valleys
Cornwall https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/29637/etsy-makers-cornwall
Devon https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/15348/made-in-devon
Dorset https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/14319/dorset-etsy-team
Durham https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/28280/etsy-durham
Essex https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/29571/etsy-in-essex-uk
F
Glasgow https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/8931/glasgow-etsy-team (Glasgow Team also accept Etsy sellers from across Scotland)
Gloucestershire https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/16017/crafters-of-gloucestershire
Hereford https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/29599/hereford-etsy-team
Hertfordshire https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/21272/made-in-hertfordshire-uk
I
J
Kent https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/14208/kentish-crafters-on-etsy
Lancashire https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/27932/lancashire-etsy-sellers
Lancashire https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/31143/lancashire-etsy
Leeds - https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/21180/team-leeds
London Local - https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/23485/london-local-team
Manchester https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/5149/etsy-manchester
Merseyside https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/9694/merseyside-etsy-team
Midlands https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/8815/pretty-midlands
Milton Keynes https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/8718/milton-keynes-team
Newcastle https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/27718/etsy-newcastle
New Forest https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/21071/new-forest-etsy
Northern Ireland https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/24246/made-in-northern-ireland
Norwich https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/10535/norwich-a-fine-city
Nottingham https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/24681/nottingham-etsy-team
Oxford https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/14720/oxford-etsy
Portsmouth and Southsea https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/22400/the-portsmouth-southsea-consortium
Q
R
Sheffield https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/23910/sheffield-sellers-on-etsy
Somerset https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/30225/somerset-etsy-team
South Cheshire https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/27538/etsy-south-cheshire
Suffolk and Essex https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/10877/etsians-of-essex-and-suffolk
T
UK https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/9218/etsy-uk
UK - Craft Britannia   https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/5151/craft-britannia
UK and Ireland https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/7332/etsys-uk-ireland-seller-support-team
V
Wales https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/12905/wales-creativity
X
York https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/27608/teamyork
Yorkshire https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/9695/etsy-yorkshire
Z

Broader UK teams

UK Wide
British Sellers on Etsy https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/6966/british-sellers-on-etsy
UK Etsyers https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/11760/uk-etsyers
Handmade UK https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/19484/handmade-uk
Etsy Uk https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/9218/etsy-uk
UK Street Team https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/5129/uk-street-team
The UK sellers team https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/25175/the-uk-sellers-team
Crafty Creatives https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/22760/crafty-creatives-uk
UK crafters on Etsy https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/12958/uk-crafters-on-etsy
South West https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/5153/etsy-uk-south-west-arts-and-crafts
Crafty Fox Team https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/15358/crafty-fox-team
North East Crafters https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/8764/north-east-crafters
Themed teams
A
B
Clay - UK Clay Users https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/11358/uk-clay-users
Crochet UK https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/9590/crochet-uk
D
E
Felting - UK Felt Obsessors https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/10420/uk-felt-obsessors
Full time Etsy sellers - Full time Etsy UK https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/21310/full-time-etsy-uk
G
Home Education - UK Home Edders https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/10200/etsy-uk-home-edders
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
Photography - UK Photo Team https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/8216/uk-photo-team
Q
R
Spinners and Felters - UK Spinners and Felters https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/11865/uk-spinners-and-felters
Steampunk - steampunkanauts  https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/14996/uk-steampunkanauts
Supplies - UK Supplies Shops https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/14595/uk-supplies-shops
T
Upcycle UK https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/19773/upcycle-uk
Vintage - UK Vintage Team https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/6580/uk-vintage-team
W
X
Yarn - UK Yarn Lovers - https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/10044/the-uk-yarn-lovers
Z

8 comments:

  1. Hiya, I came across this post via my activity feed on Bloglovin. :)

    Great list, very useful, and I have one more for you that I think fits the bill. I'm a member (ok, leader, I have a vested interest ;) ) of a team called Craft Britannia. It's a UK team, but mostly online. It's great for people who don't have a local team, or who can't get out much due to disabilities, responsibilities or other reasons. You can find us here:
    https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/5151/craft-britannia
    Thanks. :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thanks so much Victoria :) I have added Craft Britannia to the list and have heard great things about the team!

    ReplyDelete
  3. There is the Best of British team as well :-)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you, I have added it to the list :)

      Delete
  4. Hi there! Do you know if there is now a team for Warwickshire? The nearest one on this list is Birmingham which isn't bad in terms of distance from me (Nuneaton) but I wonder whether there's one I could join - or start - to include Atherstone/Tamworth/Hinckley etc etc. Thanks x

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. As far as I know....I don't know of an active Warwickshire team. However, Ideas Birmingham is fantastic and there is also Pretty Midlands which is a really active team that has smaller more local groups that meet so would be worth taking a look. Hope that helps!

      Delete
  5. Don't forget about the other Birmingham team - Birmingham Originals! https://www.etsy.com/uk/teams/24044/birmingham-originals :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks Adrienne :) I have just added you

      Delete

Please leave me a comment (it makes me smile!)

Thank you!